Some time to plan

So, today marks the second free day of our Prague adventures and to say it was good day would be an understatement.

I began my day by sleeping in a bit later than usual. I then woke up and finished the remainder of my homework that was due today. From there my day truly began.

I left the hotel not having a clue where I was going. I was walking in whatever direction my feet took me. In my opinion, this is the best part of a study away course: time to explore and wander. Seeing the different parts of the city gets better every time I go out. I will admit, there are some locations I am tired of seeing. However, if I want to understand this city and its culture, then I need to go back to previously visited locations so that I can find out more new things. If you go to certain locations multiple times, then you may start to see new details forming that you never noticed before.

Eventually I came to the conclusion that today would be a wonderful day to continue to my picture taking and to finish my souvenir shopping. I began back where my journey started: the Old Town Square. I took multiple new photos of the various buildings there. I then traveled back to the Charles Bridge to enjoy more of the wonderful view that location offers. I then traveled over to Mala Strana to explore more of that side of town. Many pictures were taken in the process. I was going to go up to the Prague Castle, but sadly I was short on time. I have noticed that time flies by more every day. So I returned back to the hotel to grab the money I have been saving and then I proceeded to finish my souvenir hunting.

City Museum (exterior)

I did have one historical destination in mind for today’s adventure: the Museum for the City of Prague. We were originally going to stop here on our first day, but due to time constraints it sadly did not happen. The museum is located literally one block from our hotel. At first, I only decided to go here because many of my other classmates mentioned how they were going as well. So after my souvenir shopping was over, I headed to the museum. At first, I did not know what to expect, but I was certainly not disappointed. They museum had artifacts from eras dating back to the Paleolithic and Neolithic ages. Apparently the history of the Czech lands dates way further back than Czech people themselves. The current Czech people did not appear until the 8th or 9th centuries. Before them, tribes existed along the Vltava River and the region was apparently fruitful for them. The exhibit proceeded into the Premyslid Dynasty era that I have mentioned multiple times. Various artifacts have been found or donated to the museum. Then came the Baroque era and the periods leading up till now. I would tell you about the items on display, but there was no way to determine which items were more important to talk about. Long story short, if you are in Prague, then stop at the City Museum.

Just as the sun goes down, our journey must eventually end

After this stop, I returned to the hotel to rest before grabbing dinner with 2 of my classmates. After dinner it was time for homework and to wrap this day up. After my homework was accomplished, I proceeded to read through a travel book I obtained from somebody before I left for Prague. I used it to plan out where I want to go during my remaining free time. We have one free day left and 5 days total left after today is over. The trip is close to winding down, so we need to start thinking of how we want to spend our remaining time here. Whatever we decide, I am sure it will epic.

Leave a comment